January 18*: Week of Prayer For Christian Unity

January 18 kicks of the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity. This great week is just what its name implies — a time of designated prayer “for the unity of the Church as Christ wills it, and in accordance with the means he wills” according to Abbé Paul Couturier of Lyons, France. Many groups participate including most

In the northern hemisphere it is celebrated from January 18, the Feast of the Confession of St. Peter, to January 25, the Feast of the Conversion of St. Paul. In the southern hemisphere, many churches celebrate this week during Pentecost.

The theme for 2012 is “We will all be changed by the victory of our Lord Jesus Christ” from 1 Corinthians 15:51-58.

Please take a moment to pray for the unity of the believers, remembering Jesus’ words in John 17:20-23:

“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.”

One response to “January 18*: Week of Prayer For Christian Unity

  1. Pingback: Week of Prayer for Christian Unity, Part 2 | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

