Daily Archives: February 8, 2012

February 8: Boy Scouts Day

On my honor, I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country;
To obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake and morally straight.

~ Scout Oath

Boy Scouts of America was officially established on February 8, 1910. W. D. Boyce established it after learning about the Boy Scouts Association located in England. Over the next few years, several similar organizations joined the Boy Scouts of America. The Boy Scouts have served in some way at every inauguration ceremony since Woodrow Wilson in 1913.

Scouts often celebrate the association’s birthday on the Sunday before February 8, Scout Sunday. Whether or not we wear the uniform, we could probably all benefit from following the scout motto, “Be prepared,” and the scout slogan, “Do a good turn daily.”

Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.

1 Timothy 6:18 & 19