March 5: Fun Facts About Names Day

“He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it.”

Revelation 2:17

As part of Celebrate Your Name Week, today is Fun Facts About Names Day. It’s always on Monday of the first full week in March, making it March 5 in 2012. You can celebrate today by learning and sharing fun facts about your name or learning about the whys and wherefores of others. You can learn

You tell me the word, I’ll give you the Greek!
  • who named you and why,
  • what your name means,
  • other people who share your name
  • where your last name came from and what it might mean.

To get you started on the right track for Fun Facts About Names Day, I did a little research into “Meg.” Meg is short for Megan, which is itself short for Margaret. (Margaret is such a pretty old name, but so many of its nicknames sound awful to me – Margie, Gretel, Midge . . .) Margaret comes from a Greek word for “pearl.” (Maybe that’s why I cost so much – I’m a pearl of great price! Or maybe I’m just really irritating to all the oysters out there.)
What’s your name?
Leave a Reply

