April 11: Barbershop Quartet Day

“My heart is steadfast, O God,

my heart is steadfast;

I will sing and make music.”

Psalm 57:7

Today is Barbershop Quartet Day! I suspect just about everyone is somewhat familiar with this very American style of music, where four men sing a capella in close, moving harmony. However, I suspect far less people know about the women’s version: Sweet Adeline. Barbershop is a correct term for a women’s group, but Sweet Adeline is just for women (and kind of fun sounding, if you ask me).

My first exposure to barbershop was probably the school board’s “Sincere” and “Lida Rose” in “The Music Man.” Where did you first hear barbershop? In my experience, people seem to either love or hate barbershop quarters, with very few people in between. Which end do you fall on, or are you somewhere in the middle of the spectrum?

2 responses to “April 11: Barbershop Quartet Day

  1. Pingback: April 11: International Louie Louie Day | A Year of Holidays

  2. Pingback: July 13: Barbershop Music Appreciation Day | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

