April 23: Talk Like Shakespeare Day

As an English major, I can’t possibly pass up Talk Like Shakespeare Day. If William Shakespeare was still alive, he’d be 448 today. Today, you can celebrate his birthday by talking like him. The Talk Like Shakespeare Day website contains plenty of suggestions, such as using thee or ye instead of you, rhyming when possible, and starting your opinions with the word “methinks.”

If you think this sounds difficult, you can quote my favorite not-quite-complimentary love poem “My Mistress’ Eyes Are Nothing Like The Sun” or call the guy that cuts you off “thou saucy tardy-gaited varlot!”

Other celebrations reading or acting out your favorite Shakespearean play, or watching a version. Although histories and dramas like “Henry V” and “Romeo and Juliet” are classics,most people prefer a comedy like “Much Ado About Nothing” or “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” for a holiday.

Since the King James Version was translated during Shakespeare’s lifetime, I’ve included the beginning of Psalm 23 in the KJV:

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.”

Psalm 23:1-3 (KJV)

One response to “April 23: Talk Like Shakespeare Day

  1. Pingback: April 23: World Book and Copyright Day | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

