May 17: Pack Rat Day

Yes, we’re named for a small rodent that takes everything it can (especially trash and shiny items) to create its home.

You know who you are: the pat racks. You’re carefully saving everything because you might need it someday, or maybe it has sentimental value. You can’t throw anything away. What if you need it later? (Definitely “need,” not just “want!”)

After comparing myself to a few others I know and seeing commercials for “Hoarders” and “Hoarding: Buried Alive“, I sometimes forget that I really am a pack rat. It’s nicer to look and think, “Wow. I’m so glad I’m not like that!”

There are two ways to celebrate today:

  1. On the other hand, you could always celebrate by listening to the music of the Rat Pack instead!

    I’m John Doe and I’m a pack rat and proud of it! I never have to buy anything because I’ve already got it. I’m practicing sustainable living by hardly throwing away anything. Being a pack rat is great!
  2. Hello. My name is John Doe and I am a pack rat. I have a problem with keeping things I should throw out and I need help. Today I’m going to go through             and get rid of some stuff.

“Do not wear yourself out to get rich;
have the wisdom to show restraint.”

Proverbs 23:4

One response to “May 17: Pack Rat Day

  1. Pingback: May 17*: National Pizza Party Day | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

