August 9: Book Lover’s Day

If ever there was a holiday for me to celebrate, this is it. Of course, I love your basic holidays – I listen to Christmas carols all year round, and nothing beats Thanksgiving Day with my whole clan – but Book Lover’s Day is something I just can’t pass up. I’ve never been one to read myself to sleep, because I simply get to interested in the story, unlike King Xerxes:

“That night the king could not sleep; so he ordered the book of the chronicles, the record of his reign, to be brought in and read to him.”

Esther 6:1

I can’t find out why August 9 is Book Lover’s Day, but who am I to object to a day about books? Thankfully, I don’t think I quite pass into bibliomania like this guy here, but I still find a good book hard to resist.

Currently, I’m almost finished with a reread of C. S. Lewis’s science fiction trilogy (just a few chapters of That Hideous Strength left), and I don’t know where I’ll go next. Any suggestions?

3 responses to “August 9: Book Lover’s Day

  1. This is adorable. I just joined WordPress and found your blog. I am definitely archiving your blog for later on. 🙂 Ill celebrate every day! 🙂

  2. Pingback: August 9*: Art Day | A Year of Holidays

  3. Pingback: November 2*: Sadie Hawkins Day | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

