August 13: Left Handers’ Day

Happy Left Handers’ Day!

Southpaws have definitely had it rough historically. The word “sinister” can mean left (from Latin), as can “gauche” from French. In addition, some cultures will sometimes refer to a clumsy person as one who has “two left hands” or a bad dancer as one with “two left feet.” (Check out this awesome Washington Post article by a lefty for more!)

Since I am hopelessly right handed, I’m not sure exactly how to celebrate today, other than wishing my left handed friends a good time. Perhaps I’ll practice doing things with my other hand today (Honestly, I can hardly even brush my teeth with my left hand!).

Of course, then there’s the shockingly gory Bible story of Ehud, the left-handed prophet:

“Again the Israelites cried out to the Lord, and he gave them a deliverer —Ehud , a left-handed man, the son of Gera the Benjamite.”

Judges 3:15

One response to “August 13: Left Handers’ Day

  1. Pingback: August 13*: Daughter’s Festival | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

