August 21: National Senior Citizen Day

This picture was taken in 1897 in Mosul, Iraq. The man was 107 years old.

In 1988, President Reagan created National Senior Citizen Day to be celebrated every August 21. It’s a day to honor our older friends and listen to their friends. Although many people say senior citizens are those aged 65 and up, for your own health, I wouldn’t assume anybody is a senior citizen unless they tell you. Maybe today is one of those days to celebrate without ever letting the people you’re celebrating know what the day is called!

“Gray hair is a crown of splendor;
it is attained by a righteous life.”

Proverbs 16:31

2 responses to “August 21: National Senior Citizen Day

  1. We enjoy these posts at work, wish we could get them eariler!

    • Thank you! It’s so good to hear that people enjoy this!

      I’ve been toying with the idea of publishing them all a week at a time, rather than midnight the day of, and I’d love to hear a regular reader’s opinion on that. When would be the best time to get these posts? Of course, recently I’ve been late several times for my current goal. I sprained my ankle a while back, and I’ve been running (crutching!) behind on everything since then. Hopefully I’ll catch up soon!

Leave a Reply

