September 10: Sewing Machine Day

It’s time for some new clothes, because September 10 is Sewing Machine Day! Actually, so is June 13, but since Elias Howe received a sewing machine patent on September 10, 1846, we’ll go with the September date.

The invention of the sewing machine is actually a very complicated story, with multiple people claiming the invention (with varying degrees of success) and a multitude of people livid that their jobs were being given to machines (Really! This is not a new complaint at all!).

I received a sewing machine this past Christmas. Although I was extremely excited by the present, I have a confession: it intimidates me! I haven’t spent enough time with it yet to be comfortable. Instead, I treat the whole thing like an exceptionally testy animal that might turn and bite me at any moment. sigh. Am I the only one?

Maybe I’ll get to work on that a little bit today.

“When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
She makes coverings for her bed;
she is clothed in fine linen and purple.”

Proverbs 31:21-22

Leave a Reply

