September 11 Remembrance Day

I think everyone reading this probably knows what happened on September 11, 2001. This is the event of my generation. We all remember where we were when we learned about it. I don’t remember Watergate, I don’t remember the first lunar landing, and I definitely don’t remember World War II, but I will never forget the terror and courage of 9/11.

Take some time today to remember all those who died in the attacks that day, as well as their friends and families. Websites such as the 9/11 Memorial Timeline, Beyond 9/11: Portraits of Resilience (TIME Magazine), and September 11: Bearing Witness to History (Smithsonian) are full of pictures, stories, and information.

Then, take some time to evaluate where we are today. How has it changed us? What are we doing right and what are we doing wrong as a result of what happened on 9/11? I’m not going to answer that question, because I’m just not sure. However, I do know that it is something we should think about.

“Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.”

Psalm 42:11

Pause for a moment if you can, read all of Psalm 42 and 43.

Leave a Reply

