September 14: Eat a Hoagie Day

No need to argue with the coworkers about what to eat for lunch. It’s Eat a Hoagie Day!

However, I have a confession. As of my writing this, I have never eaten a “hoagie.” I’ve eaten some subs, a few submarines, and plenty of sub sandwiches, and, since moving to Michigan, I’ve had several versions of the grinder. In fact, I’m pretty sure I’ve even had a po’ boy or two, but never a hoagie.

Of course, those are all regional names for the same type of sandwich. According to wikipedia (which, as we all know, knows everything đŸ™‚ the term hoagie is prevalent in Pennsylvania, particularly around Philadelphia. I guess those of us who aren’t from New England will have to work on our Philly accents as we put together the perfect hoagie at the local sub shop!

“When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you.”

Deuteronomy 8:10

Leave a Reply

