September 19: International Talk Like A Pirate Day

Avast, me beauty! September 19 is International Talk Like a Pirate Day, and have I got a question for you, matey. If you were a pirate, would you put your parrot on this shoulder, or this shoulder?

Seriously, I might be able to talk like one for a good long while, but writing like a pirate feels awfully ridiculous! Since I’m writing this ahead of time, I won’t feel too bad though.

Obviously, we all have to talk like pirates today, and dressing like them makes it even more fun. Hats, loose shirts, and sashes will definitely help. There are also plenty of buccaneer books and movies to read and watch, such as . . .

The men were amazed and asked, “What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him!”

Matthew 8:27

 

6 responses to “September 19: International Talk Like A Pirate Day

  1. Hope you are doing well. Haven’t seen your posts the last two days.

    • I’m alive! Thanks for the concern. I’ve been travelling the past week, and the last couple of days we ended up in a spot with no internet! It’s funny to discover how easily you become accustomed to things and resent it when they’re missing. I was one of the last people I know to get a cell phone and now I feel incredibly exposed and vulnerable without it!
      I’m home now, so, Lord willing, I’ll get nicely caught up or even ahead of things tonight, even though it’s a bit late for celebrating. I don’t even know what today’s holiday is yet!

  2. When I was at Sequoia National Park, I had to go to Wuksachi Lodge each day to get wi-fi. People were wondering why I did not respond right away.

  3. For some reason October 24th won’t share on Facebook. An error message keeps coming up.

  4. Maybe it has something to do with time displacement?

    • I’d love to help you, but I don’t have a clue, unless restarting everything fixes it. It’s definitely time displacement . . . or a rip in the time space continuum . . . or maybe Marty McFly goofed. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

