October 5: World Teachers’ Day

October 5 is World Teachers’ Day. It’s also Do Something Nice Day as well as Smile Day, but I simply can’t pass up World Teachers’ Day.

The problem is: I’m a teachers kid (TKs are awesome!). I’m also a teacher’s niece, sister, sister-in-law, and daughter-in-law (I think I might be forgetting someone). And, last of all, I actually taught (briefly) myself! So you see, I can’t possibly pass up World Teachers’ Day.

I suspect everyone has at least one teacher who truly inspired and changed them. If at all possible, today is a great time to reconnect with that teacher and tell him or her how grateful you are and how he/she affected your life.

“Let my teaching fall like rain
and my words descend like dew,
like showers on new grass,
like abundant rain on tender plants.
I will proclaim the name of the Lord.
Oh, praise the greatness of our God!
He is the Rock, his works are perfect,
and all his ways are just.
A faithful God who does no wrong,
upright and just is he.”

Deuteronomy 32:2-4

Leave a Reply

