October 6: Mad Hatter Day

October 6 is Mad Hatter Day! Since I just spent several hours on a cross country trip, I think I definitely celebrated Mad Hatter Day with radio singalongs, the alphabet game, and many more!

Fans of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Lewis Carroll’s other stories may have already figured out why this is celebrated on October 6. If you look closely at a picture of the Hatter, you’ll see that his gorgeous top hat sports a tag saying: “In This Style 10/6.” This is simply a sales tag (a la Minnie Pearl!) saying that hats in that style cost ten shillings sixpence.

Unlike the Hatter’s very British sales tag, the holiday was created in the U.S., meaning that 10/6 becomes October 6 (not British 10th of June).

By the way, if you go cheap on your Mad Hatter Day party, you can also celebrate Frugal Fun Day at the same time. Have fun!

“Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.
Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God.”

Proverbs 30:8-9

 

One response to “October 6: Mad Hatter Day

  1. Pingback: October 6: German-American Day | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

