October 13: International Skeptics Day

October 13 is International Skeptics Day. If you don’t believe me, google it! You know the internet never lies. 🙂

I haven’t been able to find much information on International Skeptics Day (although I did find that it’s also celebrated on January 13), so I’m not really sure what kind of skeptic should be celebrated here. Ergo, I’m celebrating the type of skeptic that I am.

You see, the commercials tell me that this shampoo will make me beautiful, that car will make getting groceries as thrilling as a James Bond, and that phone will make me popular. I’m a bit skeptical.

The talk shows and self help books offer five steps to better relationships, health, wealth, and even happiness. While many offer some good tips, I’m still a bit skeptical.

The forwards in my email inbox tell me all sorts of things, but I’m afraid very little of it is true.

For your International Skeptics Day celebration, I suggest reading some of Snopes or watching some Mythbusters. Should be a fun day!

“Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, ‘I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!'”

Mark 9:24

Leave a Reply

