October 16: Dictionary Day

Happy Dictionary Day!

I know this places me in a very small minority, but I love dictionaries! To be completely honest, I actually wrote a college term paper on Samuel Johnson’s dictionary. Of course, that’s not as ridiculous as it sounds, since his 1755 tome includes definitions like:

Dull: Not exhilerating; not delightful; as, to make dictionaries is dull work

Lexicographer: A writer of dictionaries; a harmless drudge that busies himself in tracing the original, and detailing the signification of words.

Oats: A grain, which in England is generally given to horses, but in Scotland appears to support the people.

October 16 was chosen for Dictionary Day because Noah Webster was born on this day in 1758. I suggest celebrating Dictionary Day by picking out a new word and working it into as many conversations as possible. You can use Merriam Webster’s online dictionaryfor help, although nothing beats just letting a great big dictionary just fall open. I’m going for scaramouch.

“As a dream comes when there are many cares,
so the speech of a fool when there are many words.”

Ecclesiastes 5:3

 

2 responses to “October 16: Dictionary Day

  1. Hannah shared your url with me–finally! You’re amazing! I wanted to see comments of others, but don’t seem to have access.

    • Thanks! You’re not seeing any other comments because you’ve got the first comment on this post. I’m afraid I don’t get too many comments, unless you count the spam comments that (thankfully) get screened out. Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

