October 17: Wear Something Gaudy Day

How do you celebrate this holiday? I guess the name just about says it all: October 17 is Wear Something Gaudy Day. This would be a bit easier at Christmas time with an in-your-face sweater and some light up jewelry, but it’s definitely achievable in mid October (and easier for some of us than for others).

Just in case you need some help, here’s the Merriam-Webster definition of gaudy for you:

1) ostentatiously or tastelessly ornamented; or 2) marked by extravagance or sometimes tasteless showiness

You can also get fashion help for Wear Something Gaudy Day from almost any six year old girl. 🙂

Apparently this day was first proposed by the character Larry Dallas from the 1970s tv show “Three’s Company.” I’m afraid I can’t find anymore info about this episode and I’ve never seen the show (I wasn’t even alive in the 70’s!), but I do think the holiday sounds quite fun.

And if people look at you funny today, just toss your boa over your shoulder and keep flouncing. They’re probably just wondering where they can buy clothes like yours!

“Your cheeks are beautiful with earrings,
your neck with strings of jewels.”

Song of Songs 1:10

5 responses to “October 17: Wear Something Gaudy Day

  1. I’ve just spent much longer than normal trying all sorts of different search terms to find a good public domain picture or two for this post. After far too many pictures of Lady Gaga, Nicki Minaj, Katy Perry, and others, all I can say is let’s not take this holiday too far! Seriously, folks!

  2. Hannah-Wan-Kennabah

    Sounds fun! Too bad I had to wear a uniform…

  3. Hannah-Wan-Kennabah

    Mama suggested it and I decided it was appropriate for writing on your blog. And of course, it’s true that I am your only hope and that I’m awesome and incredible just like Obi Wan, so it seemed like a pretty good fit. 😀

  4. Pingback: October 17: Mulligan Day | A Year of Holidays

Leave a Reply

