November 15: Clean Out Your Refrigerator Day

“You must distinguish between the holy and the common, between the unclean and the clean.”

Leviticus 10:10

A few observations in light of Clean Out Your Refrigerator Day, celebrated every November 15:

  1. My fridge is in desperate need of this “celebration.”
  2. I am looking forward to this the least of all the holidays I’ve written about this year. In fact, instead of excitement, I think my feelings would qualify as “total dread.” If I’m not careful, it might even turn into avoidance!
  3. If  everyone only cleaned out their refrigerators once a year, I think the mold would conquer the world before the first year was up.
  4. In addition, if your celebration of this day includes a close encounter with an office or break room fridge, you have my pity.

Good luck!

“However, some of them paid no attention to Moses; they kept part of it until morning, but it was full of maggots and began to smell. So Moses was angry with them.”

Exodus 16:20

Leave a Reply

