November 17: Take a Hike Day

Around here the last of the leaves fell almost a month ago and the temperature is only reaching the mid-40s every day, yet November 17 is still Take a Hike Day.

Believe it or not, the hike is still totally worth it.

In the past few years I have developed a whole new appreciation for nature. I’m not much for really long hikes and I definitely don’t care for camping, but I love spending an hour or so roaming around, enjoying all the sights, sounds, and smells of the season. I even have a favorite place now – a state park about fifteen minutes from home where the trail is smooth enough that I can stare at the trees without much risk of spraining my ankle (again).

So go ahead and take a hike today. Or, if you really can’t right now, at least take a moment to tell whoever is annoying you to “take a hike!” 🙂

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty;
the whole earth is full of his glory.”

Isaiah 6:3b

Leave a Reply

