December 11: National Tango Day

Orquesta_tipica_julio_de_caro

In 1977, Argentina honored one of their great composers, conductors, and musicians by creating National Tango Day on his birthday. The man was Julio de Caro.

Caro started his professional career while still a teenager, as a violinist in his hometown of Buenos Aires. The young musician loved the new and popular sounds of the tango, much to his father’s chagrin. Soon he was sneaking out with his brother, pianist Francisco de Caro, in order to hear tango recitals.

tango in Buenos Aires [image credit Anouchka Unel at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Tango_au01.JPG]Both brothers began travelling with different orchestras, playing across Argentina and the U.S. In 1923, they joined forces again, creating a new orchestra, directed by Julio himself for many years.

Celebrating National Tango Day is simple: start a tango playing and get up and dance to it! Sadly, I’m afraid I don’t know much about how to tango. I actually tried to find a clip of Fred Astaire dancing the tango, but I don’t know enough to tell what kind of a dance he’s doing!

“You turned my wailing into dancing;
you removed my sackcloth
and clothed me with joy,
that my heart may sing to you and not be silent.
O Lord my God, I will give you thanks forever.”

Psalm 30: 11-12

Leave a Reply

