January 1: World Day of Peace

peace_dove [image credit http://sweetclipart.com/peace-dove-olive-branch-629]Since 1967, the Catholic church has celebrated January 1 as the World Day of Peace. I may not be Catholic, but I think that peace is a great thing to focus on as we begin the new year.

Of course, if you really want my two cents (and if you don’t, why are you reading this?!), I think there’s very little I, personally, can do to promote “world peace,” i.e., peace between nations, ethnic groups, etc. On the other hand, I can move mountains for peace within my family, among my friends, and with all those I come in contact with throughout my day. On this first day of 2013, may our lives be a blessing to all those around us.

“The Lord bless you
and keep you;
the Lord make his face shine upon you
and be gracious to you;
the Lord turn his face toward you
and give you peace.”

Numbers 6:24-26

Leave a Reply

