April 1: The International Edible Book Festival

I hope everybody had a good Easter, and I’m sure you all already know that it’s April Fools Day. Did you also know that the day after Easter is Dyngus Day? If you’ve never heard of it, check out last year’s post. Seriously, you need to know about Dyngus Day. 🙂

"Physiologie du Gout" by Jean-Anthelme Brillat-SavarinApparently, April 1 is also the International Edible Book Festival. Book lovers around the world create edible literature, submit pictures to books2eat.com, then eat them! April 1 is the birthday of Jean-Anthelme Brillat-Savarin, who wrote Physiologie du goût, a funny book all about food in 1825. He is quoted as saying:

“Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you what you are.”

“Cooking is one of the oldest arts and one that has rendered us the most important service in civic life.”

 

Let’s go eat our words!

“And he said to me, ‘Son of man, eat what is before you, eat this scroll; then go and speak to the people of Israel.’ So I opened my mouth, and he gave me the scroll to eat.”

Ezekiel 3:1-2

Leave a Reply

