April 17: Bat Appreciation Day

Austin_Bat_Bridge_By_Dan_PancamoApril 17 is Bat Appreciation Day! Smiley Bat and Bat Conservation International  have declared this holiday to celebrate the bats returning from their winter migrations. Yay!

Since I’m a Texas girl, I have a special love for bats and the Congress Avenue Bridge in Austin. All winter they’ve been hanging out in Mexico, but around the middle of April they come back to the bridge. I love watching the million or so bats swoop out at dusk and zigzag across the sky grabbing bugs.

I’m embedding a lovely video of the bats leaving the bridge at dusk, taken by someone kayaking near the bridge at the time. The individual bats move very erratically, but, as a group, they move in a beautifully orchestrated ballet. Enjoy!

“Who are these that fly along like clouds,
like doves to their nests?”

Isaiah 60:8

Emergence of the bats of the Congress Avenue Bridge in Austin, Texas at dusk. [by Peter17]

One response to “April 17: Bat Appreciation Day

  1. Ola! Ayearofholidays,
    Thanks you for your post, I am having a bat mitzvah in april. I want a black and white party so that I can wear a bright color. My mom thinks it’s too demanding to say “Black and/or White dress is appreachiated” on the invitation. I think it’s not demanding because you can wear black, white, gray, silver, or anything close to black or white. With black, white, silver, and gold decorations I think it would be a classy theme that everybody would enjoy.
    I’ll be back to read more next time

Leave a Reply

