April 18: Poem in Your Pocket Day

pocketApril 18 is Poem in Your Pocket Day.  It’s time to pick out a poem, stuff it in your pocket, and drag it out as often as possible to share it with others (ideally, it should be rather tattered by the end of the day due to it’s many entrances and exits from your pocket!).

JohnDonneYou can pick any sort of poem for today, so start searching. If you need some inspiration, here are a couple of ideas:

This first poem, Holy Sonnet 14 by John Donne, is both beautiful and profound:

“Holy Sonnet 14”
Batter my heart, three-person’d God, for you
As yet but knock, breathe, shine, and seek to mend;
That I may rise and stand, o’erthrow me, and bend
Your force to break, blow, burn, and make me new.
I, like an usurp’d town to another due,
Labor to admit you, but oh, to no end;
Reason, your viceroy in me, me should defend,
But is captiv’d, and proves weak or untrue.
Yet dearly I love you, and would be lov’d fain,
But am betroth’d unto your enemy;
Divorce me, untie or break that knot again,
Take me to you, imprison me, for I,
Except you enthrall me, never shall be free,
Nor ever chaste, except you ravish me.
John Donne is one of my favorite poets. However, if that’s not really you’re kind of poetry, here’s another one. I suppose, in a way, you might be able to call it beautiful and profound as well!
cow“The Cow” by Ogden Nash
The cow is of the bovine ilk;
One end is moo, the other, milk.
Share your poem in the comments!
“You, God, are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
where there is no water.”
Psalm 63:1
And don’t forget National High Five Day!
2 responses to “April 18: Poem in Your Pocket Day

  1. Hannah-Wan-Kennabah

    I know not why pain exists
    Except for the reform it inspires,
    But was I such an egotist
    That such an amount was required?

    🙂 copyright now for hannahwankennabah

Leave a Reply

