May 20: Eliza Doolittle Day

“One day I’ll be famous! I’ll be proper and prim; 
Go to St. James so often I will call it St. Jim!
One evening the king will say: 
‘Oh, Liza, old thing, 
I want all of England your praises to sing.
Next week on the twentieth of May 
I proclaim ‘Liza Doolittle Day!‘”

My Fair LadyHappy Eliza Doolittle Day everyone! If you want to know more about Eliza Doolittle Day, then you should watch “My Fair Lady” and read Pygmalion. At the very least, you should listen to “Just You Wait,” where Eliza vents a bit of her frustration with her elocution coach, Professor Henry Higgins.

So, get started! It’s time to sing the praises of the beautiful Miss Eliza Doolittle, who just might be a Hungarian princess in disguise.

“The tongue has the power of life and death,
and those who love it will eat its fruit.”

Proverbs 18:21

2 responses to “May 20: Eliza Doolittle Day

  1. I always remember Eliza Doolittle day coz when I was a kid I got a dog on this day and we called him Doolitle (Dooey for short). Happy days!

Leave a Reply

