June 5*: National Running Day

couple_running_silhouetteNational Running Day is held every year on the first Wednesday of June. Runners everywhere are encouraged to run and to share their passion for running.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am not a runner. In fact, I tend to feel that there’s no need to run unless there’s something terrifying chasing me. I’ll play sports (not that I’m any good, but I love playing basketball or volleyball, and occasionally other sports), but running for the sake of running? I still don’t get it.

running-couple

But it seems that I am definitely in the minority now. Everyone runs, talks about how great and relaxing it is, and posts their runs to facebook! Even those who you never thought would put on a pair of running shoes are now well through the Couch to 5K program and now signed up for their first half marathon.

Maybe it’s time to join them.

 

 

(Okay, it’s me we’re talking about here. Don’t hold your breath yet. 🙂 )

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.”

Hebrews 12:1-2a

Leave a Reply

