July 18: Sidewalk Egg Frying Day

sunny-side-up-fried-eggsHave you looked at the thermometer lately? Hello, summer! It’s Sidewalk Egg Frying Day!

There’s actually some debate about the date for Sidewalk Egg Frying Day. Some sites say July 4 and others say July 18, but, since I missed the 4th, I’m celebrating today. Just a couple of tips before you go:

  • Use a skillet. If you fry it directly on the sidewalk, you’ll have a gross mess that’s no fun to clean up and that I certainly wouldn’t eat. (Correction: I’m told you shouldn’t eat it, even if you cook it in a pan, but I’m really not sure why as long as it’s cooked thoroughly.)
  • Let your skillet warm up for about 15 minutes before you crack your egg on it. The sun is powerful, but it’s not microwave fast.

Frying eggs on a sidewalk has actually been in the news lately due to a rather funny event. A park ranger in Death Valley posted a video a week or two ago showing how she fried an egg in a skillet just using the heat from the sidewalk (and the sun). The video took off, and now park authorities are begging visitors not to fry eggs directly on the sidewalk. They’re tired of cleaning gooey half cooked eggs off the pathways! (More info here)

Stay cool today!

“For day and night
your hand was heavy on me;
my strength was sapped
as in the heat of summer.”

Psalm 32:4

2 responses to “July 18: Sidewalk Egg Frying Day

  1. When my best friend Sally and I were teens we decided to put the saying “it’s hot enough to fry an egg on the sidewalk” to the test. We did use a pan, actually a cookie sheet, and we definitely did not dare to eat it. I think our egg just dried out. It looked like a very sad scrambled egg. Hey, but we always had a lot of fun experimenting!
    We also tried to hatch eggs once straight from the egg carton in the fridge. We were probably only 5 or 6. I still remember wondering how I was going to explain the egg that was all over the backside of my coat.

    • I’d forgotten about the egg hatching episode! 😀

      I read a scientific article before I wrote this explaining that it has to be at least 110 degrees outside to actually fry an egg on the sidewalk itself (something like 130 degrees on the sidewalk for about 20 minutes), but a metal skillet or even a cookie sheet should hold heat better than a concrete sidewalk.

Leave a Reply

