July 30: National Cheesecake Day

Happy National Cheesecake Day! I think we all know how to celebrate this day: eat cheesecake!

image credit zingyyellow at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Baked_cheesecake_with_raspberries_and_blueberries.jpgThe only questions left are 1) what kind? and 2) how to make it / where to get it?

I realized something when I went off to college several years ago. I realized that you could actually cook cheesecake yourself. In fact, I can cook cheesecake myself. Surprising, right? Well, actually, I haven’t cooked any yet, but I could!

When I think back through my childhood, I’m pretty certain every cheesecake I ever sample came in a box. My family made regular cakes and coffeecakes. We made brownies. We made cookies and pies and even the occasional cobbler. But I don’t remember ever having a homemade cheesecake, so I never thought of it. Then I went to college and my suitemates went and made cheesecake in our tiny little dorm kitchen. I guess you really do learn new things in college!

“This is what I have observed to be good: that it is appropriate for a person to eat, to drink and to find satisfaction in their toilsome labor under the sun during the few days of life God has given them—for this is their lot. ”

Ecclesiastes 5:18

P.S. July 30 is also Paperback Book Day!

Leave a Reply

