August 5: Work Like a Dog Day

guide dog

Happy Work Like a Dog Day! I’ve seen this day listed several places, with information about workaholics, working extra hard today, or taking the day off. However, I just found this site about International Assistance Dog Week, so I think this day originated to celebrate guide dogs.

After World War I, the first guide dog training schools were established in Germany to help wounded veterans, especially those who were blinded, regain some mobility. And now, on August 5, we get to celebrate these wonderful animals, who spend their days “working like a dog.”

“I will lead the blind by ways they have not known,
along unfamiliar paths I will guide them;
I will turn the darkness into light before them
and make the rough places smooth.
These are the things I will do;
I will not forsake them.”

Isaiah 42:16

Leave a Reply

