August 21: National Senior Citizen Day

grandpa and granddaughter walkingHappy National Senior Citizen Day!

I have a secret for you: you have two choices. You can either become a senior citizen, or you can die young. Personally, I think becoming a senior citizen is by far the better option.

You can celebrate National Senior Citizen Day by spending time with older people you know or visiting a nursing home. One of the nicest things you can do is to listen to their stories. Even someone with severe Alzheimer’s often has several childhood stories that they would love to share with you, if you will just listen.

“Since my youth, God, you have taught me,
and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds.
Even when I am old and gray,
do not forsake me, my God,
till I declare your power to the next generation,
your mighty acts to all who are to come.”

Proverbs 71:17-18

P.S. National Senior Citizen Day is actually an official national holiday in the United States. President Ronald Reagan declared the holiday back in 1988.

Leave a Reply

