August 24: Nostalgia Night

Although most of my readers here live in the United States like me, every once in a while I like to showcase a totally foreign holiday. On August 24, it’s Uruguay!

jukebox-112965734286RBAlthough it’s exact origin is under debate, the holiday was probably started in 1978, when someone decided to dedicate the night of August 24 to “oldies” music (I can’t determine what “oldies” refers to in Uruguay, so I’m just imagining an oldies station in the U.S.). This Nostalgia Night, or Noche de la Nostalgia, was so popular that soon radio stations, dance clubs and just about every place with music over the speakers soon started playing old music on August 24.

Eventually, the celebration became so popular and so widespread that Uruguay’s Ministry of Tourism made Nostalgia Night official.

I realize not many of my readers are from Uruguay originally or living there now, but I think this sounds like fun. Who’s up for a Nostalgia Night playlist tonight?

“I remember the days of long ago;
I meditate on all your works
and consider what your hands have done.”

Psalm 143:5

Leave a Reply

