October 10: World Porridge Day

“Please, sir. I want some more.”
~ Oliver Twist

Happy World Porridge Day! I know that, in popular opinion, porridge is the “gruel” that everyone’s supposed to despise . . .

“Oats: A grain, which in England is generally given to horses, but in Scotland appears to support the people.”

A Dictionary of the English Language, Samuel Johnson, 1775

porridge oats. . .  but I rather enjoy it! In fact, I had a bowl of apple cinnamon oatmeal for a quick dinner last night, and I really enjoy grits with butter and just a bit of salt.

World Porridge Day is the perfect day to pick your porridge (Wikipedia lists a ton of types!), but World Porridge Day is about more than that. It was started  by Mary’s Meals, a charity based in Scotland that provides a cup of porridge every day to children in several third world countries. The porridge is made and passed out in schools, to provide for children and to encourage them to get an education. So, not only is this a good day to eat porridge, but it’s also a good day for helping people out, worldwide.

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.”

Matthew 25:35-36

Leave a Reply

