January 29: Curmudgeons Day

W C FieldsIt’s Curmudgeons Day! Bah humbug!

Merriam Webster defines a curmudgeon as “a crusty, ill-tempered, and usually old man,” but I have a bone to pick with that definition: why can’t I be a curmudgeon?! I’m crusty and ill-tempered enough!

Curmudgeons Day is held on January 29 in honor of legendary comedian W. C. Fields. Since most of my generation is unfamiliar with W. C. Fields, I’ve pulled a few quotes from brainyquote.com:

“Start every day off with a smile and get it over with.”

“I like children – fried.”

“Women are like elephants. I like to look at ’em, but I wouldn’t want to own one.”

Celebrate Curmudgeons Day by being a curmudgeon or watching a few good curmudgeons – Oscar the Grouch, Grumpy the Dwarf, John and Max from Grumpy Old Men, or (my personal favorite animated curmudgeon) Carl from Up!

“In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, ‘If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt!There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.'”

Exodus 16:2-3

 

One response to “January 29: Curmudgeons Day

  1. how appropriate, I’ve just begun to write my memoirs . . .

Leave a comment