February 1: Hula in the Coola Day

I don’t know who actually created this day, but, as this Texas girl shivers her way through another Michigan winter, I definitely understand the wish for warmer weather. The high today is 17 degrees.

beach-penguin hula [image credit leehansen.com]

The HIGH

is 17

degrees

Farenheit.

Right.

If that seems normal to you, you really need to think about relocating.

Be that as it may, February 1 is Hula in the Coola Day. The goal of Hula in the Coola is to ditch your winter clothing in favor of a grass skirt and simple top, add some leis and throw a backyard luau in the snow and ice. To cut down on the frostbite, I’d avoid going barefoot.

Actually, as much as I’m ready for warmer weather, I think I’ll wait until it gets here to dress for it. I’ll watch the luau from inside, in my turtleneck, ready to call EMS when you hit hypothermia. 🙂

“God’s voice thunders in marvelous ways;
he does great things beyond our understanding.
He says to the snow, ‘Fall on the earth,’
and to the rain shower, ‘Be a mighty downpour.’”

Job 37:5-6

Leave a comment